Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

mummyhamster
Pondweed

United Kingdom
13 Posts

Posted - 30/03/2010 :  13:16:12  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to all this but need a little bit of help if you please!

I have done a lot of research on Fire Bellied Newts, I set up my tank and bought 2 Chinese Fire Belly's. I bought them on Friday 26th March. It is now Tuesday 30th March and I still don't see them very much. They are not very big, a little over 2inches. I was wondering if anybody had a rough idea as to how long it would take them to feel settled in their new home and start being more active. Also I have been wondering if I have put in too many plants? They are just the fern like strands done up with a bit of metal to hold them in bunches. I have quite a bit and then towards the other end of my tank, not as much. I have given them a land area. It is a deep tub with a lot of gravel in it to give it weight, then some moss patted down so they can't get to the gravel, and then more loose moss on top with a couple of small plastic plant pots for them to hide in. The tub is then standing on four upside down plant pots holding it about 3 inches above the water. There is a big slate rock breaking the surface of the water and a rubber reptile pretend branch that is in the water and goes right out to the tub so they can get in there. There is a filter which has a very gentle output. They have feed once since I've had them but I don't think they ate a lot. There are plenty of places to hide - which ofcourse is why I never see them! Any ideas whats going on? Is there too many places to hide or are they just not settled in yet?
I hope someone out there can help!
Thanks in advance
Veronica.

Kazerella
The Amphibian Administrator

United Kingdom
969 Posts

Posted - 30/03/2010 :  15:41:42  Show Profile  Visit Kazerella's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I would say they are settled in yet, but they are also tend to be secretive creatures anyway.